Micah Committee Leadership

There is a lot going on at Micah and now you know where you can take ideas, questions and offers to volunteers assistance. If you are interested in one of these committees, or would like more information, please call the Micah office (615-377-9799) and we will get you in touch with the appropriate person. 

Executive Committee 2018 - 2019
President Lynn Heady

President-Elect Dan Grossman
Vice President Scott Oneal             
Secretary Susan Foxman
Treasurer Diane Landa    

Legal Advisor David Zolensky       

Board of Trustees 2018 - 2019

Mitch Light

Scoob Duben

Suriva Fischer

Lauren Hackett

Leslie Kirby

Pam Weissman

Justin Kanew

Howard Baum

Sara Melamed

Nic Frank

Paul Zamek

Alexa Honigsblum (Youth President)


Adult Education Committee
Purpose: fosters a culture of life-long Jewish learning at Micah and provides access to curricula and speakers that will allow congregants to grow as educated Jewish adults.

Cemetery Committee
Purpose: provide a perpetually kept final resting place of peace and sanctity for the members of our Congregation and their families.

Facilities and Grounds Committee
Purpose: to maintain the beauty and structural integrity of the synagogue and its premises and provide a safe, clean atmosphere for worship and education; this includes providing and reviewing a maintenance plan for the facility.

Finance & Budget Committee
Purpose: clarifies the Micah income statement for the Board of Trustees. Also prepares the annual budget for presentation to the board and oversees Audit Committee.

Human Resources Committee
Purpose: to establish uniform personnel practices assuring that matters of recruiting, interviewing, training, performance evaluation, dismissal, salary negotiations and other practices are conducted in a consistent and professional manner.

Investment Committee
Purpose: responsible to the board of trustees and the congregation to safeguard and grow the corpus of the permanent endowment and related investment accounts.

Legacy Committee
Purpose: to provide confidential assistance to members, their families and others who would like to participate in planned giving opportunities for Congregation Micah.

Legal Counsel
Purpose: assists the President and the Board of Trustees in any legal matters.

Library Committee
Purpose: to build and sustain a resource for lifelong religious learning.  

Membership Committee
Purpose: assures that every new or prospective member of Congregation Micah has the information and personal contact that will allow him or her to both fully benefit and fully contribute as a member of the congregation.

Micah Cares Committee
Purpose: to preserve and promote the Micah culture of support for our members when they have a need; much of the work of this committee is done through Soup and Solace.

Religious School Committee
Purpose: charged with overseeing the classes, teachers, parents, texts, and philosophical direction of our Religious school.

Ritual Committee

Room at the Inn Initiative
Purpose: to organize and support Room at the Inn at Congregation Micah

Security Committee
Purpose: reviews and works to maintain the safety and security for congregants, students, staff and guests.

Social Action Committee
Purpose: serve our congregants, our community and our world through events and support activities that meet specific community needs.

Past Presidents

Marjean Codden
June 2013 – June 2015

Hope Stringer
July 2011 – June 2013

Ron Galbraith
July 2009 – June 2011 

Lynn Heady
June 2008 – June 2009

Ronnie Steine
June 2007 – June 2008

Bill Wizner
June 2006 – June 2007

Aileen Katcher
June 2005 – June 2006 

Michael Levine
June 2004 – June 2005

Faith Haber Galbraith
June 2003 – June 2004

Teri Kasselberg
May 2002 – June 2003

Gary Witkin
May 2001 – May 2002

Scott O’Neal
May 2000 – May 2001

Ellen Lehman
May 1999 – May 2000

Andy May
May 1998 – May 1999

Michel Kaplan
Jan. 1997 – May 1997 (1/2 year term)

Bennett Ross
May 1996 – Dec. 1996 (1/2 year term)

Cynthia Morin
May 1995 – May 1996

Howard Stringer
May 1994 – May 1995

Jerry Doochin
May 1993 – May 1994

Richard Eskind
June 1992 – May 1993